Brunswick Hotel in City (Hobart)
Hotel was established in 1827. It was called the Brunswick Hotel at one time. Up untill 2010 was known as the Old Hobart Hotel and renamed back to the Brunswick Hotel under new ownership.
Nov 2011 - "We bought this pub about 18 months ago and have done a complete renovation recently and turned a tired unloved pub into a really exciting Gastro Pub. Please check it out at www.brunswickhotelhobart.com.au. This is the second oldest continued licensed pub in Australia c1827 and we have the world's 2nd largest Chesterfield!!! (couch) - Robert Publican
- Ensuite Double, Triple and Twin rooms.
- Gastropub during your stay for lunch or dinner
More History courtesy Hotel Website
"Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country's social history.
The Brunswick Hotel initially operated as an illegal grog shop under the title of "Brunswick Wine Vaults". In 1831 it was granted its first liquor licence and began trading under the name "The Brunswick Hotel".
Despite a devastating fire in 1926, the hotel remains an example of the numerous drinking establishments that once lined Liverpool Street many years ago. It has now just under gone a complete refurbishment that showcases the heritage elements of the space. Come in and see what we uncovered including the great bones of original convict built sandstone and brick. The refurbishment has complemented this heritage with warm modern finishes." - www.brunswickhotelhobart.com.au.
Old Hobart Hotel
Photos & information submitted by: Jon G, Many Thanks.
- 67 Liverpool Street,
- 03 62344981